Armenian duduk workshop

Welcome to our Armenian duduk workshop.

The duduk is an Armenian wind instrument. Traditionally made of apricot wood, the duduk is a particular type of oboe due to its cylindrical bore. It is played with a large double cane reed and its body is pierced with eight holes above and two below (one for the thumb and the other for the tuning). Its range, finally, is an octave and a third.

Haig Sarikouyoumdjian

Who are we ?

Our manufacturing method is in line with the Armenian tradition.

Born in 1985, Haig Sarikouyoumdjian studied duduk in Armenia with various masters, including Araïk Bartikian (himself a student of Djivan Gasparyan), with whom he learned the technique of duduk.'instrument, with all its shades of timbre, and the traditional repertoire, with all its subtleties (accuracy of intonations, ambiguities and rhythmic multiplicities, work of the'ornament, development of fashions). 

Then he met Gaguik Mouradian, master of the kamancha, with whom he studied the Armenian repertoire in a more general way. Since 2009, he has played under his direction in the'traditional set Gousan. The many concerts at his side allow him to'approach the'spirit of this music. 

At the same time, he collaborated under the direction of Jordi Savall on various projects including Istanbul, Mare Nostrum, the Cathar tragedy and Spirit of'Armenia

Gradually, his research on the timbre of the duduk led him to s'interested in violin making. He then learned to make his own reeds with master Ashot Martirosyan and then studied the'art of filming and'agreement in the MeyerRecorders workshop with the master Ernst Meyer and his two sons, renowned manufacturers of baroque recorders. 

Today'today, he manufactures his own instruments and pursues his research work from a mastery of the entire sound production chain, from lutherie to'interpretation. Finally, he leads a solo career and performs in particular at the Théâtre de la Ville, India, Portugal, Morocco, Switzerland...

The Armenian duduk

Our instruments are made of apricot, boxwood and mozambique ebony (grenadilla) wood. The cutting period and the drying period are important factors to which we pay particular attention. The most played duduks for solo pieces are the A and Bb duduks.

Previous
Next
Previous
Next

the reed

Arundo donax is the most used reed in Armenia nowadays. The harvest period is between October and February. The diameter used is between 18.50 and 21.50 mm and the length is between 8.50 and 10.50 cm. Once selected, the reed is partly peeled. The final shape is given either by immersing the reed in near boiling water, or by parboiling it and using rings which will give it its final shape.

Previous
Next

Lyon - Workshop

Contact us

Whether you are an individual or a professional, we are at your disposal to answer your requests.

Atelier de duduks arméniens

Bienvenue dans notre atelier de duduk arménien.

Le duduk est un instrument à vent arménien. Traditionnellement construit dans du bois d’abricotier, le duduk est un hautbois d’un type particulier du fait de sa perce cylindrique. Il est joué avec une grosse anche double en roseau et son corps est percé de huit trous au-dessus et deux en dessous (l’un pour le pouce et l’autre pour l’accord). Son ambitus, enfin, est d’une octave et une tierce.

Haïg Sarikouyoumdjian

Qui sommes-nous ?

Notre méthode de fabrication s’inscrit dans la continuité de la tradition arménienne.

Né en 1985, Haïg Sarikouyoumdjian étudie le duduk en Arménie auprès de différents maîtres, dont Araïk Bartikian (lui même élève de Djivan Gasparyan), auprès de qui il apprend la technique de linstrument, avec toutes ses nuances de timbre, et le répertoire traditionnel, avec toutes ses subtilités (justesse des intonations, ambiguïtés et multiplicités rythmiques, travail de lornement, développement des modes). 

Puis il rencontre Gaguik Mouradian, maître du kamancha, auprès de qui il étudie le répertoire arménien de manière plus général. Depuis 2009, il joue sous sa direction au sein de lensemble traditionnel Goussan. Les nombreux concerts à ses cotés lui permette dapprocher lesprit de cette musique. 

Parallèlement, il collabore sous la direction de Jordi Savall à différents projets dont Istanbul, Mare Nostrum, la tragédie Cathare et Esprit dArménie

Progressivement, ses recherches sur le timbre du duduk le conduisent à sintéresser à la lutherie. Il apprend alors à fabriquer ses propres anches auprès du maître Ashot Martirosyan puis étudie lart du tournage et de laccord dans l’atelier MeyerRecorders auprès du maître Ernst Meyer et de ses deux fils, fabricants réputés de flutes à bec baroques. 

Aujourdhui, il fabrique ses propres instruments et poursuit son travail de recherche depuis une maîtrise de toute la chaîne de production du son, de la lutherie à linterprétation. Il mène enfin une carrière soliste et se produit notamment au Théâtre de la Ville, Inde, Portugal, Maroc, Suisse…

Le duduk arménien

Nos instruments sont fabriqués dans du bois d’abricotier, de buis et d’ébène du mozambique (grenadille) La période de coupe et la période de séchage constituent des facteurs importants pour lesquels nous apportons une attention toute particulière.
Les duduks les plus joués pour des pièces en solo, sont les duduks en La et en Sib.

Précédent
Suivant
Précédent
Suivant

L'anche

L’arundo donax est le roseau le plus utilisé en Arménie de nos jours. La période de sa récolte se situe entre octobre et février. Le diamètre utilisé se situe entre 18,50 et 21,50 mm et la longueur est comprise entre 8,50 et 10,50 cm. Une fois sélectionné, le roseau est en parti épluché. La forme finale est donnée soit en plongeant le roseau dans de l’eau proche de l’ébullition, soit en l’étuvant et en utilisant des bagues qui lui donneront sa forme finale.

Précédent
Suivant

Lyon - Atelier

Nous contacter

Que vous soyez particulier ou professionnel nous sommes à votre disposition pour répondre à vos demandes.